The longer I remain in the Program, the more willing I become to make amends to those I have harmed. It was not always an easy task, and facing those I had truly harmed took courage and a good, hard, honest look at my behavior towards others – and myself. I had to work at not beating myself up, and remind myself that I still had the opportunity to make amends. Then I had to let those negative feelings go as it would do no good to constantly berate myself . What was needed was the realization and acceptance of the love God had for me, in spite of my poor behaviors and misdeeds. If God can love me for who I am, then there is no reason why I should not love me, too. It makes me feel good when I am kind, generous, and responsible. Good behavior brings on good feelings, and good feelings encourage me to behave better towards others. Simply put: Improved behavior generates positive self-esteem.
Just Good Enough

