I’ve known people in the Program who could recite the readings, verbatim, but could not stay sober. For me it took knowledge of the Steps, as well as all the other “tools” of recovery. Wisdom, by definition, is accumulated learning – and therefore indicates that it will take time for wisdom to happen. It is a process, which affects the attitude and inner qualities of those who are utilizing change at a visceral level. It comes from deep down within, and it is truly God-given. While I cannot, with total confidence, recite the Twelve Steps or other readings, I do know that today I have time to learn. Experience begets wisdom, and wisdom begets right action. Being open-minded to the process of recovery is essential. I am capable of learning and re-learning whatever lessons I need, as I live this life of recovery, ONE DAY AT A TIME.

Photo Courtesy of Rocky

Photo Courtesy of Rocky

