Recovery teaches me many things and Step Nine enables me to see my part in my problems. Becoming willing to make amends to others is surely a “step” towards taking responsibility for my actions. It’s not easy to look another in the eye and admit my wrongs – but doing so helps me to get a clearer perspective on the real truth of my life. Doing so enables me to experience a freedom and a healing from the pile of lies and mistruths that defined my life for so many years. I am always surprised at the leniency afforded me by others when I make amends. It doesn’t happen all the time, but when it does it blows me away. God’s grace is prevalent in my life. Step Nine not only blesses those to whom I owe an amends, but it also blesses me with a clear conscious and the freedom of total honesty.
3948636224_aae3738cb4_z

