I’ve heard the first three Steps defined as “I can’t, God can, I think I’ll let Him.” I know that God has done for me what I could not do for myself. I tried and tried to change my way of living. I tried and tried to just quit drinking. And I tried and tried to be a better person, a better mother, a better etc. But failure was my rule of thumb – until I found A.A. I found that I was capable of change, that there was a glimmer of hope for not just myself but for all the others who were sitting around the tables. In the process of healing my own wounds, I found ways of helping others heal their wounds. The Program is simple in it’s base form; abstention from alcohol and striving towards the spiritual principles are the very basics. With God by my side I have the “power” to do whatever is needed to stay sober, to change and grow – and come to believe.

Photo Courtesy of Rocky

Photo Courtesy of Rocky

