In the Program there are many “guides” to recovery, from the Steps to using other members. There are spiritual principles which help to define behaviors. When I cannot think of what I need to do I look back at what I did, and try to do the opposite of those behaviors. Where I was defiant and angry, I would try to work towards acceptance and peace. The members, themselves, serve as examples of what to do, and what not to do. I worked to learn from others and my strongest teacher was my Higher Power, who help me to find the Higher Path. I know I am on this Higher Path because I can “feel” it inside – when I do right, I feel right. When I step off this path, I feel uneasy almost immediately. It is at this point that I need to stop and pray, asking God for help and understanding. I trust in God, I trust in the Program – and I know that the answers for my troubled feelings lie within the first 164 pages of the Big Book.
fellowship

