All my time before the Program had been spent in denying my disease. I worked hard at “not” being an alcoholic. I watched others and emulated those whose actions supported the Spiritual Principles. Principles such as honesty, willingness, and humility to name a few. I began to “see the light” through persistence in attending meetings, and working the Program. The longer I was in recovery, the greater my understanding became of living life as a sober alcoholic. I began to hear the words that are read at the beginning of the meetings, I began to believe those who claimed long-term sobriety, and I slowly, and gradually came to know the God of my understanding. Making that decision to turn my life and will over to the care of God was what “sealed the deal.” It required that I sit still, that I allow Him the time He needs to help me, and that I keep the faith through prayer and meditation.
img_20160918_174110

