I pray for the strength to carry on every day. I pray for willingness, understanding, and honesty. I pray that I may find a renewed energy to put one foot in front of the other. I have the knowledge of the Program, but without the action of working the Steps and following the guidelines and suggestions of the Program – I have nothing. The purpose of recovery is to overcome my alcoholism, one day at a time. Once that lofty goal is attained, to some degree, it is then time to “pass it on.” I believe I am here (alive) by the grace of God, I believe I am sober by the grace of God, and I believe it is my purpose and direction to be of service to those who are seeking God’s grace, and will. But the first person I need to be of service to is myself. I can do nothing if I don’t take care of me, first. I have to give credit when I accomplish something, and thanks to the God of my understanding, for my improved behavior and life.

Praying hands

Praying hands

