Before recovery I was constantly taking my inventory, comparing myself to others. Someone in the Program suggested that we compare our insides with the outsides of others. I see people who appear to be well put together, but when I get to know them I find that they have problems in life that are no different from my own problems. At first, I was quite sure that I was in the wrong place, but then I began to relate to others in the rooms who told of their experience in the Program. I thought, well I didn’t drink like the guy doing the talking, but I sure felt the misery he went through, in my own way. I had relationship problems, all the time; I had problems identifying myself as an alcoholic, I had trouble understanding the spiritual aspect of the Program – just like others around the tables. I worked real hard at not “looking” like an alcoholic; I had a job, a home, a car, etc. I was not the “brown bag” drunk, real or imagined. Accepting my disease was the first step towards recovery. How did YOU do it?

Photo courtesy of Maggs

Photo courtesy of Maggs

