Should I get the urge to drink there are several actions I can take: I can call another member, I can get to a meeting, I can pray to my Higher Power. I can pray for serenity, courage and wisdom. The Serenity Prayer can be the very thing I need to hear myself recite. There have been days when I have needed to repeat that little prayer over and over again. It reminds me of who is in charge, and I find it is not me. God is in charge – of any and all changes that are happening in my life. The longer I claim my seat in the rooms of A.A., my sense of peace is stronger. My mistakes of yesterday can be stepping stones for tomorrow if I do something about them today. I no longer have to hold on to the old misconceptions I had about drinking. For me, the alcoholic, to continue drinking is to underwrite my own death sentence. It is through God’s grace and mercy that I am given one more minute, one more hour and one more day.
The-Yellow-Rose-of-Texas-roses-20105937-800-743

