The title cites that we should “go back to the basics.” For me, an alcoholic, that means working the Steps, making more meetings, prayer and meditation, and talking with others – sharing my feelings, thoughts and troubles. The Serenity Prayer talks of acceptance of things I cannot change, courage to change what I can, and from these – wisdom to know what to change. There are many “tools” in the Program, tools that help me to repel the negative feelings, and to encourage the positive feelings. Acceptance of my present circumstances enables me “feel the feelings” and then move on into some type of action. I am capable of change, I am capable of growth. Both gratitude and acceptance have become part of my recovery. I have come to know that staying sober is so much more than not drinking, the Program of Alcoholics Anonymous is a program that teaches me how to live a sober life, one that embraces both acceptance and gratitude.
Toolbox

