Quote is from “Stepping Stones to Recovery” pp. 30-31: “Gratitude”

Many times during the attendance of meetings, I hear the words grateful and gratitude. I have no doubt that when people say these words they mean them. For me having gratitude or being grateful is not always easy. For one thing, problems you don’t have, you don’t consider. Another is the tendency to take things for granted. And another is the habit of looking at what you don’t have (materially) rather than being grateful for what you do have.
In order for me to be truly grateful, there are a few things that I must do. The first is to stop. The second is to become reflective, look at my past, and see where I am today. The third is to stay in the present and try to get materialism out of the picture. The fourth is to think of all the problems I could have and don’t. The fifth, think of how much better I feel physically and mentally. Sixth, realize that my recovery is only a gift based on my spiritual growth from my Higher Power on a daily basis. Seventh, realize that in order to be truly grateful, I must gain more humility. I must know that I have to become more patient, tolerant, understanding and forgiving. Eighth, I must learn to turn it over, learn acceptance of myself and others, become more honest.
When I do all these things, then I can become grateful and have an attitude of gratitude.
DSC_0043 (1)

