Like so many others my spiritual awakening was not the “white light” that many have experienced. It was a gradual process of change and acceptance. Going through the Steps was but a beginning. First, I had to admit my powerlessness, then I worked at believing that there was a “higher” power at work in the universe. Next it came down to trusting that faith in my Higher Power, whom I choose to call God. I let go and let God, it was just that simple. I’ve heard it expressed as “I can’t, He can, I think I’ll let Him.” I found a willingness to believe that surprised me, and those close to me. One other factor present in my recovery has been the idea that living my life one day at a time is something I can “manage.” I work to live in the now, in the present moment – otherwise I become overwhelmed with “problems” and when the pressure is on, escape is sought – and for this alcoholic that means returning to the bottle again and again. Today is a new day, a new beginning. WE can do this, IF…we choose.

Photo Courtesy of Rocky

Photo Courtesy of Rocky

