My sense of generosity has grown through the Program, and I am more willing to give without expectation of any reward.  Being self-less means that I am learning how to give anonymously.  I love seeing the smiles on the faces of those who are receiving something, especially when it is totally unexpected.  I have learned that there is more joy in giving than there is in receiving.  In order for me to give of myself, I have to take care of myself, first.  If I’m not feeling good about me, any attempt at giving to others will not be an honest expression of my feelings for them.  I need to look at my motivation for giving to ensure that I’m giving for the right reason.  Mostly I give to see others smile, I give because I can, and I give because before recovery all I did was take, take, take.  Giving of my time is something I can always give to others, a smile is something I can always give to others – it takes so little to make others feel better.  
don-miguel-ruiz-four-agreements

