I was always defensive with others, prior to A.A. I had a chip on my shoulder all the time. It felt as if others were always critical of me, and I was critical of myself as a result. Taking a few moments to help another can help me to feel better about myself.  Taking the higher road when it comes to dissension benefits both me and the person I am angry with.  I need to be mindful of my behavior, especially when it comes to working the Twelve Steps of Alcoholic Anonymous.  I cannot encourage what I am unwilling to do.  The Program is based on spiritual principles, such as patience, humility, honesty, forgiveness, generosity, and self-control.  When I work toward these, I am closer to kindness, and kindness is a path to higher self-esteem, something that I can always use. 💜

Photo courtesy of AINV

Photo courtesy of AINV

