I don’t know why I am an alcoholic, the important thing for me to know is that I am, and that there is a solution. Being an alcoholic does not mean that I am doomed to a life of chaos, pain, and confusion. I have found that there are positive results from being a sober alcoholic. I can be of help to others who are struggling, through sharing my experience, strength and hope. I know that my disease does not define my life, I have choices today – because I am sober and practice recovery behaviors to the best of my ability. I have stopped asking “Why me?” and instead ask “Why not me?” I accept life as it is, not as I would have it. It’s not for me to know the “why’s” of life, it is what it is. Some of us are born with a predisposition to alcoholism, some of us are not. Many hold to the belief that they are born alcoholic. It is still one of the “unknowns” for me, all I know for sure is that I am an alcoholic, and that I have a solution and do not have to live a life of misery and chaos.
article-0-0B7B3B1A000005DC-335_964x612

