I love women’s groups for the very reason that it is a much more open atmosphere, and I can relate more personal information than I am willing to do in a mixed group. I just relate more and better to other women, particularly women who are also members of A.A. I am still learning about being a friend to others. I see how others accept the differences of personalities, and I watch as they interact with each other. Since I began practicing the Twelve Steps of A.A., which is based on honesty, I have found the courage to dare to be a friend to others. I try to be there when needed, and to search out others who are also looking for valid, sincere, and giving friendships, like I am. Although right now I have a dear friend who is in ICU on life support, I must continue to take care of me and attend meetings and be of service. AA is part of my life, and others understand.

