We have come to believe He would like us to keep our heads in the clouds with Him, but that our feet ought to be firmly planted on earth. That is where our fellow travelers are, and that is where our work must be done. These are the realities for us. We have found nothing incompatible between a powerful spiritual experience and a life of sane and happy usefulness.
-Alcoholics Anonymous, p. 130
I view the Spiritual Principles as guides to my behavior. When I am in doubt of my behavior, I can look to the Principles to find the “higher path.” Instead of relying on myself, I now have a Higher Power that I can rely on. I am currently working on being more humble, honest, willing, and persistent – to name a few, Lol. My humility comes from the knowledge that I have a “higher” power, I am not the center of the universe, I am but a very small part of the world. The best I can hope for is that God will grace me with serenity, courage and wisdom that I might then possess the ability to be of service to others, and to the Fellowship of Alcoholics Anonymous. Action is needed, yes, but faith in that action is an absolute for my recovery. I have to believe in the Twelve Steps, the Twelve Traditions, and the Twelve Concepts – in addition to a basic belief in my Higher Power.
On another note, a very dear friend will be taken off life support after Christmas. Prayers for her family are welcome.
Happy Holidays, or whatever you believe this season. And may Peace be in your hearts as another year is about to begin.

