“A life of sane and happy usefulness” is what we are promised as the result of working the Twelve Steps.
– The Tools of Recovery, p. 6
I never imagined the extent of the spiritual solution to my alcoholism that I found in the rooms of Alcoholics Anonymous. I knew there was reference to “God, as we understood Him” in Step 3, and again there was mention of God in Steps 5, 6, and Step 11 as well. At first I thought this might be a problem for me as I had not been “God conscious” in years. Someone with a knowledge of the Program told me not to worry about the spiritual… just focus on working the Steps and to Keep Coming Back. In other words to give it time, that my “awakening” would happen when I was ready, open and willing to consider this aspect of recovery in A.A. Some people are blessed to have a “white light” experience, which they view as a spiritual event. We each come to the idea of a “higher power” differently. For me, it was a slow process of acceptance and required that I be open minded, and willing to consider the possibility of a power greater than me. What was YOUR experience?

Santa Cruz 12/30/16 Dude made this sand structure.....pretty cool

Santa Cruz 12/30/16
Dude made this sand structure…..pretty cool

