I expected A.A. to have a “plan” for my drinking, I never expected that this “plan” would revolve around the spiritual aspect of recovery. That was a bit of a surprise for me. Later, I determined that the spiritual part of sobriety was what had been missing from my life. It was what made the difference between A.A. and other programs of recovery. The Program offered me salvation from this “incurable” disease we call alcoholism. Yes, I had to work for it – there were Steps, lots of meetings and many of us also used the principle of one alcoholic helping another. I got sober, and then started helping others claim sobriety, and they in turn helped others. And so it was that “we” grew from just two guys talking to the millions in the Program today. Together, united as one, we will all come to help each other, each day and every day.
race-starting-line-120726

