I can clearly see Steps One, Two, and Three in the Serenity Prayer. Step One calls for acceptance of my condition, and my powerlessness to do anything about it. Step Two asks that I change my “source” of power, from myself to this Power greater than my disease. Step Three is what made the difference for me, recovery is more than abstinence, it’s a new way of living. It’s a spiritual program designed for those of us who are addicted to alcohol. I was unused to meditating and had to work at it. But I have had good experiences with it – it’s like a warm embrace from God, I feel so peaceful afterwards. I try to focus on any problems I may be encountering, and try to “feel” the right path I am seeking, with regard to the problem. I ask God for guidance, that I might then be of service to the God of my understanding. I sit quietly, and work to remain thankful for all the blessings God has granted me. I do deep breathing exercises and concentrate on the in and out of the air in my body. This helps me keep on track, and open to God’s gentle nudges.

Praying hands

Praying hands

