Asking for what I need takes thought, honesty, patience, integrity, and a big dose of humility. I no longer pray for money or material gain. Having been in the Program for a while now I know that prayers should be for the benefit of others health and well-being. I don’t pray so much as I “talk” to God. I try to let God know how I’m doing, and that I still have a desire to be a sober member of A.A. who strives to be of service to others and to the Fellowship. I ask for blessings for the sick and afflicted, I ask for comfort for those who are troubled. I pray for the children, and the needy. I ask for the forgiveness of my sins. I thank the God of my understanding for all my many blessings. I express my gratitude for my sobriety and the life of recovery I live today. I pray for my family and my friends, that they may find peace and comfort in God. Sitting quietly in commune with the God of my understanding results in a calmness that no drug or alcohol ever gave me. I am at peace with God, I am at one with God and I am forever and eternally grateful to God for what He has bestowed on me.

Photo courtesy of Maggs

Photo courtesy of Maggs

