My relationship with God has changed over time – and that still amazes me.  I did not come to the tables believing in God’s power, I came with a heart full of doubt and distrust. As I continued to sit in the rooms of A.A., I found that my belief was being restored.  Every story I heard, every share I listened to brought me one step closer to forming my own concept of a Higher Power.   Open-mindedness was the key for me to having faith in a Higher Power,  The fact that a roomful of alcoholics, who were now sober, was a strong indicator of the power of the spiritual.  I wanted what others had, and many had a faith in a God of their understanding, in addition to having the blessing of the Program.  I came to know this as one of the basics of recovery.  It proved to be a double whammy to my disease.  It helped me to form a visual picture of what my HP looked like, after all God became my Higher Power, my spiritual mentor, and my lifetime protector.  I found that I could not only attribute my emotions to Him, but my actions were also based more on the Higher Path that God represented.

Photo courtesy of MAGGS

Photo courtesy of MAGGS

