I was quite surprised to learn that A.A. was not a “class” whereby I would “graduate.” Nobody handed out certificates, but I did eventually earn a “chip.” I truly thought that once I could claim a certain amount of sobriety that I would no longer need to attend the meetings. Boy, was I in for a rude awakening but one that turned out to be in my favor. Alcoholics Anonymous is a program that lasts a lifetime, one day at a time. It’s a program of growth and change whereby understanding continues to embrace the spiritual principles. It’s not something that I learn once and then forget, not if I want to continue on the path to recovery. I’ve heard others talk about having a misconception about A.A. An open mind is one of the best things to have when approaching A.A. for the first time. It takes time to understand what’s happening, it takes time to grasp the importance of the spiritual aspect of the Program. But if AA doesn’t work for you, maybe there’s outside help,…or perhaps,…church. Whatever works, right?

Photo courtesy of ALBERT!

Photo courtesy of ALBERT!

