When I first came to the program, I was told to listen for the similarities, not the differences, of those in attendance at meetings.  This proved to be my saving grace, as I actually heard others tell of the same experiences that I had.  We are each individual in our drinking patterns and behaviors.  My basic problem was that once I got started drinking, my ability to stop drinking left me.  The more I drank, the more I wanted to drink, and that usually meant I drank until the bars closed or I ran out of booze.  There are differences in drinking behaviors, just as there is also similarities.  It is up to each and every one of us to determine if we are alcoholic.  For me my disease continued to overcome my intentions.  I never intended to get drunk, but I did.  I never intended to stay out drinking all night, but I did.  I never intended to become morally bankrupt, but I did.  I am an alcoholic – in spite of my denial, in spite of my intentions, and in spite of my misguided notions of what is an alcoholic.

Photo courtesy of Maggs

Photo courtesy of Maggs

