In recovery, I have made many friendships. Some that have lasted for the whole of my recovery, and some that were very short-termed.  I love the openness of A.A. I feel an affinity with my fellow recovery participants.  There is a closeness to others that is almost immediate when we form together for a meeting or other gatherings.  I feel an immediate closeness – and we talk about “there being no strangers, only friends we have yet to meet.”  I know I can go just about anywhere and find people who will welcome me and with whom I feel a kinship to. I had to learn to love myself before I could learn to love others.  I am connected to members of A.A. by our search to understand our disease, and our struggle for recovery from that disease.  We are united through our common dependence on the Spiritual Principles.

