I love the Program of Alcoholics Anonymous. It teaches me and directs my behavior towards the spiritual, rather than the material.  It leads me to a “higher” path. A path to better behavior, better response to problems, and it gives me a time frame that is totally workable. 0There exists a prayer that speaks to this topic – our beloved Serenity Prayer.  There is also a small hand-out that is entitled “Just for Today” and begins with “Just for today I will try to live through this day only, and not tackle my whole life problem at once.  I can do something for twelve hours that would appall me if I felt that I had to keep it up for a lifetime.”  The final one states “Just for today I will be unafraid. I will not be afraid to enjoy what is beautiful, and to believe that as I give to the world, so the world will give to me.”  To that end I have today and I plan to enjoy this day.

