There is lots of literature available through the Program, and it never hurts to enlarge my understanding of this disease. It is a disease of heart, body and soul.  The better I understand the disease, the better my knowledge of what I can or cannot do.  Knowledge can be powerful, yes, but faith and knowledge together form an amazing pair.  I know that the stronger my faith, the stronger us the program of recovery.  There are many forms of action I can take to deepen my resolve to remain sober.  The basics are working the Steps, attending meetings, reading the literature, prayer and meditation, having and using a sponsor, believing in and accepting a God of my understanding. We each develop our own form of recovery, no two of us are exactly the same.  That diversity enables me to learn from all others, regardless of their definition of the Program. Our goal, our heart’s desire is the same – to stay sober and help others.

Photo Courtesy of Jaybird

