I know there are times when I want and need to talk with another alcoholic. One that is in the Program.  Talking to a “normie” gets me things like “Well, why don’t you just change (or not do that anymore).”  Their experience has been very different than my experience and many simply do not “get it.”  When I talk to another alcoholic it’s on many different levels; spiritual, mental, social and physical. Most of the time when I talk to others it’s more on the surface, like talking about the weather or news events.  I need friends that will speak as truly as they can and that will pull my covers and not let me get away with lying to myself or others. Friends that have lived through tough times and will understand when I get confused, sad, lonely, or just plain down.  They allow me to talk without trying to fix me – instead they listen and accept what I say as being my truth. They are uniquely useful as they know me, they understand me and they accept me – just as I am.

