Learning how to voice my opinions and views without being aggressive relates to Step Nine and to the Spiritual Principles of  Honesty, Integrity, Humility, and Trust.  In making amends to others I found various ways of conveying what I hold to be true, for me.  Honesty is of the utmost importance and is the basis of all amends.  Understanding the purpose of an amends helps me to stay on track, and guides me in my search for the “right” words.  Knowing that I am responsible for my behavior; what I do and what I say, further leads me to writing out what I want to say, and then reviewing and revising my words, until I feel they convey my true and honest feelings.  Directness benefits both me and the person to whom I am making amends to.  The practice of making amends gives me the opportunity to find new ways of stating my views and opinions without causing further damage to my relationships.  I am learning the value of friendships and the benefits of a recovery program.  Being comfortable with both of these has lead me to my Higher Power, God, who continues to bless me with His teachings.