It has been my experience that many non-alcoholics have a preconceived idea of what an alcoholic “looks” like.  They think in terms of the “brown bagger,” skid-row, down-on-their-luck drinker.  But alcoholics come in all forms from the binge drinker to the daily drinker.  Some of us keep jobs, marriages, and lives that most do not expect alcoholics to have.  There are many who do not fit that mold.  My behavior got worse as the night went on. My morals declined and I quite often went into a blackout where I could not remember anything. It was very scary to lose all control like that; to wake up in strange places, sometimes with very strange people.  When asked, I try to convey to others the differences and the similarities I share with other alcoholics.  Being honest and upfront about my disease encourages others to ask questions.  Practicing detachment allows me to respond  to others in a positive manner, without judgment.  Detaching with love enables me protect my recovery while still maintaining those relationships.