Accepting love from others is still a work in progress for me.  I don’t believe I’m alone in this area, I can see where I have made progress.  I have made improvement in my treatment of others and myself.  Today I work towards patience, modesty, integrity, humility, and forgiveness when it comes to treatment of myself and others.  Before recovery I acted as if I did not care, when the truth was I cared very much.  I had to overcome a lot of self-pity and resentments towards others, not to mention my low self-esteem.  I found the willingness to change, and now work towards treating myself and others with honesty, openness, and a true sense of forgiveness for all the misdeeds – both mine and the misdeeds of others towards me.  I try to treat others as I want to be treated.  A little patience with myself and others is always a good thing.  Today, I am free to express my love for others more openly and honestly than before.  I came to believe God loves me, and now I know others do also, and that includes me.

