In the Program of Alcoholics Anonymous I have found learning new behaviors requires a hard look at my motivations and my objectives.  If I am attempting changes – what are my reasons; are they self-centered or are they in the hopes of benefiting others.  What is my goal, what am I hoping for?  Are my goals based on jealousy, dishonesty, envy, fear?  Or were these changes wanted to improve my relationships, that I might then have more patience, more trust, more honesty with others. Looking at both my goals and objectives is always a good idea when facing behavioral changes.  I can accomplish more with the support of others than I ever could by myself.  In so far as my Program goes, I tend to hang with the winners – those who work their Programs, those who go to meetings, those who have and use their sponsors. It is my unity with them that gives me the strength to endure and the strength to keep putting one foot in front of the other and the strength to keep on trying – time and again,  Recovery is not a one-shot deal, it is a daily prayer seeking God’s help and wisdom.  

