My life was always fear based, as far back as I can remember.  Fear has been described as the absence of faith – faith in God, faith in myself and faith in the Program.  I believe this to be true.  If I have faith in the Program, then I can accept the challenges that life throws at me. I mean after all I have a Higher Power to guide and protect me.  If I have faith in myself then I can persevere knowing that in the long run I will overcome any obstacle that arises in recovery.  And if I have faith in God, then I accept that all will be as He wills it.  The Program of Alcoholics Anonymous has much to “say” about fear, and the longer I remain sober, the shorter my list of  fears is.  One of the promises is that “Fear of people and of economic insecurity will leave us.” I have come to understand and accept this promise, my fears have lessened, and my faith has grown.

