I found that through the recovery process I dared to be true to my feelings even when they differed from others.  Today I have thoughts, feelings, opinions, and can be true to those without excuses or lengthy explanations.  This sense of self has grown over time and I am more the person I want to be than at any other time in my life.  My self-respect has grown as my pride in my God-given abilities.  God graced me with the willingness to change, the desire to overcome my past, and a propensity for learning more and more.  I believe in learning and I believe in growing. There is no end to educating myself. It just takes a deep desire.  I no longer view myself as being stupid and uneducated. Today I know that I am capable of more than I ever thought possible.  I can learn, I can read, I can write, and I can continue to grow in all aspects of recovery. God loves his children, and I continue to honor that love by remaining Honest, Open, and Willing.

Photo Courtesy of AinV

