I often say that making and keeping close relationships are the hardest things we do in life.  I love the friendships I have today. They are as varied as my recovery.  I know a lot of people, mostly those in the Program, and have been fortunate to have made a few solid friends in the process of becoming a sober woman.  Because I have moved twice in my recovery, I now have friends is several locations.  The relationships I developed with respect to being a sponsor, and having a sponsor, have proven to be the most challenging from both standpoints.  I feel a closeness and an afinity with others that I never felt before recovery.  I had few solid friends, most were very transient as that was my life style. We come to the tables searching for love and understanding, and we discover that these are the blessings of being a sober alcoholic.  Sometimes we come to know that our “knight” in shining armor is really the person you’re sitting next to in a meeting of A.A

