I have learned to say what I mean and mean what I say.  I can say no just as easy as I can say yes.  It took a while for me to learn this new “habit” or behavior.  I was so used to expressing what I thought others wanted to hear.  I played that game for a very long time. I never wanted to make others upset with me or disappointed with my decisions so I sought the “softer easier way.” While I have gained some ground with this behavior I am still very much an imperfect human being.  I try to take a little time with my decisions especially when they affect my recovery.  I have learned to ask for a little time or space, or both, to ensure that my decision will be the best one for me.  I believe in service to the Fellowship but there are limits to my efforts and it is okay to say no when it is appropriate for me.  I need to check myself when trying to determine the best course of action. What are my motives and how will this decision affect others in my life?
How do you check yourself?

