When I was new to the Program, the enthusiasm of those around the tables was a shocker.  I expected a “doom and gloom” atmosphere. Instead, I got laughter, hugs, and a warm welcome from many members.  Being overly enthusiastic can, at times, bring about doubt in the mind of the newcomer.  I try to bring my enthusiasm down a notch or two to a place of quiet serenity when others want to know what my experience have been in the Program.  We each work our program in our own way.  Sometimes I start with a lot of enthusiasm and then it begins to wane.  This usually happens when I haven’t considered what my project requires, and I come to understand that it takes more than just enthusiasm. It takes dedication, perseverance, patience and humility. This applies to Step work which is one of the cornerstones to recovery.  Originally I was very enthused, but as I progressed, I came to understand that Step work is a life-time process, just like recovery!

Photo Courtesy of MX


 

