In the Program I found a whole roomful of others who shared the same experiences that I had.  I related to their stories and was amazed time and again to hear parts of my story in the story of others.  We shared the same insanity, the same skewed thinking, the same devastation in life, and the same hopeless state of mind.  What a genuine surprise it was to find a whole bunch of people who I could relate to as having the same or similar background as my own.  I was not so “unique” after all.  It was only when I became willing to face the prospect of change in my life that I had any chance of recovery from alcoholism.  At first I thought A.A. would reject me – well that never happened.  Then I thought that I was not truly an alcoholic – and that proved to be untrue.  I have the disease of alcoholism, and cannot manage my life when I drink.  I drink to excess, and then I drink some more – this is not “normal” drinking.  The only thing stopping me from claiming recovery was . . . me!  Once I accepted my condition, only then could I begin the process we lovingly call “recovery.”  

