Serenity, Freedom, Joy

Humility tells me that I am the best I can be for this here, this now. I am no more and no less. I have been around the rooms for some time now and I am still learning new ways of looking at problems, and new ways of looking at solutions. I trust and rely on the God of my understanding, as I am challenged with my thoughts, and my ways of dealing with life. I pray to remain open to the lessons presented to me through my Higher Power. The Program of Alcoholics Anonymous has been my “source” for all the growth and change that has occurred in my life. It led me to my Higher Power, and continues to lead me forward into a place of “serenity, freedom, and joy.” I trust in the Program and am learning to trust in myself. I pray that I remain honest, open and willing to embrace changes in my life; change in my behavior and change in my acceptance of all things spiritual.
White-rabbits-Animals-wallpapers-500

On Being Humble

We are each unique in our own way, and we each possess traits and behaviors that are God-given. Day dreaming about such things as accomplishing something that is a “first” or an “only” is a waste of time. I used to dream about being the first woman to walk across the United States – then I woke up, hung-over and reality set in . . . I needed to work to pay the bills, it was a “pipe dream,” just another way for me to escape my disease for a few moments – in my mind. In the Program I have learned about the “real” me, and I struggle on a daily basis to be as my Higher Power would have me be. Humility is a behavior I strive towards, sometimes I achieve this lofty goal, and other times I do not. I am just a human being, and as such one who desires humility of heart, mind and spirit. Today, I live in the real world, instead of dreaming of a better life, I live a better life, a day at a time!!!
one