I Hear You

When I was new to the Program I heard many words, phrases and thoughts. When I started to read the Big Book, it took me a while to comprehend what was being said, and then later, how that related to recovery. Then there were all those conversations before and after the meetings. I wanted to hear, and I wanted to know how the words related to recovery from alcoholism. At first, it was all a mystery to me. When I was with a group of members, I would listen closely to the words being said, and then later I would ponder on those word. I don’t agree with the idea that newcomers should take the cotton out of their ears and put it in their mouths. Newcomers may not have a clear understanding of the Program, but expressing how they feel is important for them, and a reminder to those present of what it was like then, and how it is now. Listening is important and when we’re talking we can’t hear very well.

Photo and reflection courtesy of Tom R
Photo and reflection courtesy of Tom R

4 thoughts on “I Hear You

  1. Well do you think it’s time that we did away with this setting the clock forward and setting the clock back twice a year which really is sustained only by tradition it seems to me.
    Some like a one-way some like the other and I suspect that the split is probably about 50/50 so I suggest a long-term compromise which I hope will last something like forever.
    Just set the clock backward or as the vernacular says fall back one half hour or in the spring set it forward one half hour and then just leave the blessed thing alone.
    How about that?
    Wouldn’t everybody just be kind of happy and blissful about this solution?
    At least it would be one twice a year change that we wouldn’t have to contend with ever again.
    I kind of liked long-term solutions.
    I guess that’s the reason I like God as I understand him.

    The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; God’s mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” – Lamentations 3:22-23

    At 84 and since I was near 55, I have finally been able to trust God, because the years have revealed God’s faithfulness to me. I will never be abandoned. What was once a promise is now a relationship. It was one sided for years, but the relationship I have with God as I understand him is the longest one I’ve ever been in. He knit me together. He’s been with me every second since. All those days, all that solidity, reliability, empathy, presence and mercy. God is faithful. What was once an abstract claim has become my personal history. – Matt Fitsgerald (paraphrased by Harry Sims)
    http://www.ucc.org/daily_devotional_sorry_millennials

    I’m Harry, grateful alcoholic and devoted 12 stepper.

  2. Feels like it get more important as time goes by to pray for knowledge of his will for me and the power to carry that out. So it is becoming a more reliable relationship between me and God. Love ya all and good to catch up!

  3. So the lessons change, as capacity changes.
    And having entered the “World of the Spirit”, it hasn’t been surprising that different Big Book messages come to be felt in new ways.
    Today, to be in knowing connection with The One (or God, or The Great Reality or whatever insufficient name I might use) that I may hold love in all things is the practice. Peace “which passeth all understanding” seems to be the result.
    Grateful for the Gift

  4. Top of the afternoon family,
    My not listening always showcases my stubbornness.
    Every morning, I’m asking / listening:
    What are you going to show me today?
    What is it that You are leading me to?
    What are your desires? And please help me make those my desires.
    Then as the day unfolds and self comes out: I got this, I can handle that/this.
    Then my hand rejoins His hand:
    – Divine Mercy, what was it this morning that you wanted to tell me……….

    It’s a good day to take 2 rubber bands and be flexible day.

Leave a comment