When I was new to the Program I heard many words, phrases and thoughts. When I started to read the Big Book, it took me a while to comprehend what was being said, and then later, how that related to recovery. Then there were all those conversations before and after the meetings. I wanted to hear, and I wanted to know how the words related to recovery from alcoholism. At first, it was all a mystery to me. When I was with a group of members, I would listen closely to the words being said, and then later I would ponder on those word. I don’t agree with the idea that newcomers should take the cotton out of their ears and put it in their mouths. Newcomers may not have a clear understanding of the Program, but expressing how they feel is important for them, and a reminder to those present of what it was like then, and how it is now. Listening is important and when we’re talking we can’t hear very well.

Photo and reflection courtesy of Tom R

Photo and reflection courtesy of Tom R

